Beginnings by David Jordan

Beginnings

 

When I landed

A bolt of pain went

From my heel up through my leg and spine

And I fell down, like Achilles,

Shivering with shock,

The rest of the class silent with awe.

 

‘Stay away from horses,’ the doctor told me.

‘It was a gym horse,’ I gladly corrected him,

Not wanting to be perceived as bold

For I was only ten or eleven and

I had all my wild oats to sow.

 

I remember that bolt of pain

As sharply as I remember my

First orgasm:

Physical, intense,

A silent burst of sensation and then shock.

 

These were the beginnings of my

Heaven and Hell.

Leave a Reply

